Quick Links

Quick Links

Back to top

The Waid Academy

National 4 Computing Science


National 4 and 5 Computing Science


This course will help learners develop an appreciation of the central role of computation in the modern world gaining an understanding at a high level of the functions of computing systems, concepts and processes. This will allow an insight into the capacities of computing professionals as problem solvers and designers, able to design, implement and operate hardware and software systems, and the far reaching impact of information technology on our environment and society developing transferable skills, opening up career and study opportunities.


The course content is shown below.

National 4 SCQF Level 4

National 5 SCQF Level 5


The course has two mandatory Units including an added value unit:


Unit 1:

Information Systems Design and



Unit 2:

Software Design and Development


Added Value Unit:

Computing Science Assignment





The course is moving from 2 units to 4 areas of study:


•       Software Design and Development (40%)

•       Computer Systems (10%)

•       Database Design and Development (25%)

•       Web Design and Development (25%)


Coursework Task:

Computing Science Assignment worth 31% of the final mark.


External exam + Coursework



Successful completion of this course may lead to:

  • Computing at a further level i.e. National 4 -> National 5 -> Higher
  • College / university courses
  • Employment in Computing & ICT, Science & Mathematics or Transport & Distribution
  • Graphic Design, Games Design and other computer-based Arts.